MONTGOMERY COUNTY HISTORICAL COMMISSION Minutes – January 7, 2019 Isaac Conroe House

- 1. **The regular meeting of the Montgomery County Historical** Commission was called to order on Monday, January 7, 2019 at 5:35 p.m, by Larry Foerster, Chair. Lyn Howard gave a brief history of the historic Isaac Conroe House, built in 1885. Conroe descendants lived in the house until the 1990's.
- 2. **Members present:** Larry Foerster, Brenda Beaven, David Frame, Beverly Smythe, Mark Canada, Austin Smith, Kim Hignett, Robin Bartholet, Jo Dell Whitehead, John Sellars, Missy Ringo and Sue Ann Powell.
- 3. **The following guests** were recognized: Lyn Howard, Doug and Elaine Collings, representing Daughters & Sons of the Republic of Texas; Emery Heuermann, Floyd Montgomery and Luther Powell.
- 4. **Comments from** guests as they were recognized.
- 5. Commission minutes: Motion made by John Sellars and seconded by Jo Dell Whitehead to approve the minutes of the August 27, 2018 meeting. Motion carried. Motion made by John Sellars and seconded by Beverly Smythe to approve the minutes of the November 5, 2018. Motion carried.
- 6. Update on the Montgomery County Historical Marker booklet: Ron Saikowski is working on it.
- 7. **History Road Rally update:** To be held January 26, 2019 at the Lone Star Community Center in Montgomery. YAB students will help. Job assignments: Registration Sue Ann Powell and Anna Shepeard; Photographer Mark Canada; Judges Brenda Beaven, Kim Hignett and Carolyn Carroll. **Jo Dell Whitehead recommended sending a thank you card to Tony Gullo, Sr. for sponsoring the awards.** She pointed out he was celebrating his 85th birthday.
- 8. Committee Reports:
 - a. Distinguished Service Award Committee None
 - b. MCHC Website and Facebook David Frame, John Sellars, Barkley Dominey, Frank Johnson and Emery Heuermann have met 5 times. According to David, they have chosen to stay with what we had. Now Smart Phone friendly. Tremendous amount of data already on. Hired someone to update the theme and Google. Going to need \$1,000 per quarter for 2019. Have \$4,000 allocated to website. Motion by Jo Dell Whitehead and seconded by Austin Smith to approve invoice for \$1,000, to David Frame for first stage of work. Motion carried. Following an update of the website, motion was made by David Frame and seconded by Jo Dell Whitehead to make \$3,000 available, as needed for maintenance and upkeep for balance of fiscal year, to the Website Committee. Motion carried. John Sellars recommended going out for bids for digitizing film (pdf) from Conroe Courier 1924-1977. Link to County Clerk's office and Montgomery County Library. John is to look at the mechanisms and roadblocks and report at next meeting. David expressed need to track down markers and cemeteries and look at adding PayPal. Larry Foerster stated since now dealing with new members on County Government, may take a while to get PayPal going. Need user i.d. for Facebook and Instagram.
 - c. YAB Brenda Beaven announced meeting in two weeks. Members will be given a tour of the new jail.
 - **d.** (1) **No Preservation Grants.** Lynn Howard will send information regarding Creighton Theater Restoration Fundraiser. Will consider grant application in March.
 - (2) Grant to Conroe Community Cemetery Restoration Project for cemetery fence. Approximately \$5,000 to provide identification that cemetery exists. Gate will define front of cemetery facing 10th Street near Buffalo Soldier's grave. Three bids needed. Not prepared to move forward until cemetery is cleaned up.

 Motion by Robin Bartholet and seconded by John Sellars to table this item.

 Passed.
 - e. No History Marker applications.
 - **f. Endangered Buildings Committee—**Larry reported on a handout from Ron Saikowski. He also indicated the Truss Bridge on 2854 being on the radar.
- **9. Reimbursements:** Maria Banos Jordan will be attending the meeting in Austin and will be requesting reimbursement.
- 10. Consider nominations. None.
- 11. Next meeting will be March 4, 2019 at the Conroe Chamber of Commerce.
- **12. Meeting was adjourned** at 7:05 p.m.

Submitted by:

Sue Ann Powell Secretary