MONTGOMERY COUNTY HISTORICAL COMMISSION CHAMBER OF COMMERCE - 5/2/2016

- 1. The May 2, 2016 meeting of the Montgomery County Historical Commission was called to order at 5:38 p.m. by Larry Foerster, Chair.
- 2. Present were the following members: Larry Foerster, David Frame, Celeste Graves, Beverly Tucker, Heather Montgomery, Maria Banos Jordan, Ron Saikowski, Mark Canada, Jeremiah Dancy, Carolyn Carroll, Robin Bartholet, Jo Dell Whitehead, Missy Ringo, and Sue Ann Powell.
- 3. Special guests included Luther Powell.
- 4. There were no comments.
- 5. The motion to accept the minutes as written was made by Missy Ringo and seconded by Robin Montgomery. Motion carried.
- 6. The 2016-2017 budget of \$30,000 was presented:
 - Ron Saikowski made the motion to approve the budget and Heather Montgomery seconded the motion. Discussion followed:
 - o Amendment: David Frame amended the budget to increase the amount allotted to the website from \$3,000 to \$4,000, (thus decreasing the funding for the special projects from county-wide historical organizations from \$18,000 to \$17,000). The additional funds would be for hiring a professional to help with Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest. Beverly volunteered to do Instagram.
 - o Ron Saikowski amended his motion to increase the amount allotted to the Commission Website by \$1,000 and decrease Special Projects by \$1,000. Heather Montgomery seconded the motion. The budget was approved as amended.

7. Announcements:

- Robin Montgomery announced that the Huntsville Historical Society has compiled a book on historical markers in Walker County.
- Larry Foerster announced that Kidz Fest was cancelled due to fear of rain.

8. Committee Reports:

- a. **Distinguished Service Award Committee** Heather and Gertie met but will get together with Patricia Easley next week and report at the next meeting.
- **b. MCHC Website and Facebook** David Frame discussed the need for hiring a professional to help with Facebook and Instagram during budget discussion.
- **c.** Youth Advisory Board Carolyn Carroll reported on the successful tour of Willis/Danville/Esperanza and expressed concern for the future of YAB participation.
- **d. Scholarship** Sue Ann Powell stated there were four excellent applicants and the committee would meet to decide on the two recipients immediately after the meeting.
- e. MCHC Historical Preservation Grants Anna Shepeard and Gertie Spencer were both absent but had communicated with Larry.
 - Magnolia Depot Roof Magnolia Historical Society. Anna and Gertie approved \$10,000 for the special shingles for the new roof on the Magnolia Depot. Motion was made by Ron Saikowski and seconded by Jeremiah Dancy to award \$10,000 to the Magnolia Historical Society for repair of roof with the special period (1902) wood shingles. Motion carried.
- f. County History Marker Committee Sharon Russell not present, but Larry gave the following update:
 - Cartwright Cemetery waiting for \$2,000 from Cartwright family.
 - Alger "Texas" Alexander expect to have enough funds by end of May. Hope to make dedication during the Blues Festival in Navasota in August.
- g. Endangered Buildings Committee Ron Saikowski stated he is waiting to meet with City of Conroe and Hector Forestier of City of Willis.
- h. Cemetery Committee No report
- i. World War I Committee Jeremiah Dancy reported he is getting response from advertising. Interviews are set up. He will be meeting with the editor of Sam Houston Press. Everything is still on track. Has found 1,000 veterans from Montgomery County and 300 were African American. Goal is Christmas of 2017 to send to press to have ready by November 2018.
- 9. Reimbursements "Real Places" Conference in Austin is June 13, 14, 15. Robin Montgomery and Maria Banos Jordan plan to attend. Motion made by Heather Montgomery and seconded by Robin Bartholet to pay for Robin Montgomery and Maria Banos Jordan's registration and hotel accommodations for two nights. Motion carried.
- **10.** Nominations None
- 11. Next meeting June 27, 2016 (due to July 4th being first Monday in July)
- 12. The meeting was adjourned at 7:06 p.m.

Following adjournment, a quorum remained and discussion of the four scholarship applicants led to the meeting being called back to order by Larry Forester at 7:10 p.m. Because all four applicants were so active in the YAB for both years, it was determined an exception needed to be made and all four deserved to receive the \$1,000 scholarships funded out of the Special Book Account. The motion was made by Jo Dell Whitehead and seconded by Ron Saikowski to make an exception and award \$1,000 scholarships to all four applicants. Motion carried. The scholarship recipients are: Grant Miles Neal and Briana Muirhead – Splendora High School; John Taylor and Ross Ohendalski – Covenant Christian School. The meeting was adjourned at 7:20 p.m.

Submitted by: