MONTGOMERY COUNTY HISTORICAL COMMISSION Minutes 9-8-2014 Greater Conroe Chamber of Commerce

- 1. The September 8, 2014 meeting of the Montgomery County Historical Commission was called to order at the Greater Conroe Chamber of Commerce Building at 5:38 p.m. by Larry Foerster, Chairman.
- 2. Members in attendance: Larry Foerster, Celeste Graves, Anna Shepeard, Beverly Tucker, Jeremiah Dancy, Jay Hrivnatz, Ron Saikowski, Mark Canada, Austin Smith and Sharon Russell.
- 3. The following guests were recognized: Frank Johnson, applicant; Morris (Butch) Bateman from the Heritage Museum, and Roxanne Butschek, Chamber of Commerce Hostess.
- 4. There were no comments from the public.
- 5. Ron Saikowski made the motion, seconded by Anna Shepeard, to accept the minutes of the July 7, 2014 meeting as written. Motion carried.
- 6. Larry Foerster made the following announcements: 1) Proposed a date of October 12 at 2:00 p.m. for taking a group photo for of the Historical Commission members. 2) The Historical marker for the west side of the Courthouse depicting the five courthouses of Montgomery County will be held on December 8, 2014, at 11 a.m. 3) Reminded members of the Historical District Seminar on September 19 from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. 4) The second History Road Rally will be held in Conroe with the aid of the First Baptist Church on January 24, 2014. A discussion took place and it was proposed that the date be changed to January 17. The dates will be discussed further.
- Discussion was held concerning the moving of the 1936 Historical marker from the existing park to the Courthouse in Conroe. Anna Shepeard made the motion to move the historical marker to the Courthouse in Conroe. Ron Saikowski seconded the motion. Motion carried.
- 7. The following update on book sales of "Montgomery County Historical Timeline" was given by Larry: 560 soft cover and 100 hard cover books have been sold as well as the last 100 soft cover books ordered. Larry asked to order another 100 soft cover books. Anna Shepeard made a motion to have Larry order 100 more soft cover books. Ron Saikowski seconded the motion. Motion carried.
- Committee Reports: a) MCHC Website and Facebook. At the last meeting, David Frame expressed the need for someone to devote 8. time to updating the website and Facebook. Victoria Endsley, Communications Director for the City of Conroe, has graciously offered to help with our website and Facebook efforts. b) Youth Advisory Board. In Brenda Beaven's absence, Larry reported there are 10-12 students representing 3 or 4 high schools, but none from South Montgomery County or Magnolia. Members are asked to get phone numbers and e-mails of history teachers in their areas and keep them updated on Youth Advisory Board activities. c) Butch Bateman presented a request for \$11,000.00 for the Heritage Oilfield House Project. A discussion followed and a Motion was made by Anna Shepeard to fund our balance of \$5828.00 out of this year's budget and the balance of the \$11,000.00 need could be submitted next year. Beverly Tucker seconded the motion. The motion carried with Ron Saikowski the only abstaining vote. d) Larry explained the need for a State Historical Marker for Isaac Conroe's grave at Glenwood Cemetery in Houston. e) County Historical Marker Committee report was given by Sharon Russell. The proposed Application for a County Historical Marker and information sheet was submitted to the members for their review. Discussion followed about whether the Application might intimidate a few applicants but the general feeling was to follow this format for the present time. A motion to approve the Montgomery County Historical Commission Application and Information Sheet procedure was made by Beverly Tucker and seconded by Celeste Graves. Motion carried. A discussion was held concerning proceeding with a marker design with Southwell. Anna Shepeard made a motion to allow Jay Hrivnatz to rent software to aid in creating a marker design. Dr. Jeremiah Dancy seconded the motion. Motion carried.
- 10. Larry Foerster asked for assistance from the membership to do the Texas Historical Commission Applications for replacement markers for Telegraph Road, Crater Hill, and Conroe Oil Field. Beverly Tucker volunteered to do the application for Crater Lake; Anna Shepeard volunteered to do the application for the Conroe Oil Field and in the absence of another volunteer, Larry Foerster agreed to do the application for Telegraph Road.
- 11. The following were nominated to the Historical Commission: Anna Shepeard made the motion to nominate Frank Johnson, Robin Montgomery, Ruby Johnson and Barkley Dominey. Mark Canada seconded the motion. Motion carried.
- 12. The next Commission meeting will be November 3, 2014.
- 13. Anna Shepeard made the motion to adjourn, with a second by Sharon Russell. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 7:03 p.m.

Submitted by: Sue Ann Powell, Secretary