MONTGOMERY COUNTY HISTORICAL COMMISSION

Minutes 7-7-2014

Greater Conroe Chamber of Commerce

- 1. The July 7, 2014 meeting of the Montgomery County Historical Commission was called to order at the Greater Conroe Chamber of Commerce Building at 5:35 p.m. by Larry Foerster, Chairman.
- 2. Members in attendance: Larry Foerster, David Frame, Celeste Graves, Anna Shepeard, Beverly Tucker, Sharon Russell, Maria Jordan, Barbara Holland, Ron Saikowski, Mark Canada and Sue Ann Powell.
- 3. The following guests were recognized: Rodney Pool, Austin Smith, applicant; Billy Ray Duncan, Morris (Butch) Bateman, Luther Powell and Roxanne Butschek, Chamber of Commerce Hostess.
- **4.** There were no comments from the public.
- 5. Ron Saikowski made the motion, seconded by Anna Shepeard, to accept the minutes of the May 5, 2014 meeting as written. Motion carried.
- 6. Larry Foerster made the following announcements: 1) The Commission has been honored by the Texas Historical Commission for exemplary work preserving and promoting history. Members were encouraged to attend the formal presentation July 14th at 10 a.m. at Commissioners Court. 2) A copy of the Houston Activity Book promoting preservation of historical structures was passed around for members to see. Ron Saikowski did a coloring book for the City of Conroe through the Conroe Art League as a way of preserving history through art. If the Commission did an activity book similar to the Houston one, the focus would be on the importance of preserving historical structures. 3) The Historical marker for the west side of the Courthouse depicting the five courthouses of Montgomery County will be held on December 8, 2014, at 11 a.m. 4) The second History Road Rally will be held in Conroe in January 2015.
- 12. Discussion was held concerning the Commission co-sponsoring a Historical Preservation Seminar on September 19th in Conroe. Rodney Pool, President of Conroe Downtown Association, presented information regarding the Texas Downtown Association which began in 1985. The focus of this organization is on smaller cities and it supports the revitalization of Texas downtowns. Four roundtable discussions are held each year and Conroe will host the one in September from 9 a.m. 2 p.m. A Continental breakfast and lunch will be served. (Early registration \$35; at the door \$40). Those attending will learn how to preserve and promote historical areas. Attendees are expected from all over Texas. Larry recommended the Historical Commission contribute no more than \$500 and possibly provide a bus tour of downtown. Motion was made by Ron Saikowski and seconded by Sharon Russell to Co-Sponsor, with the Conroe Downtown Association, the Historical Preservation Seminar on September 19, 2014, and to spend up to \$500 toward expenses of the roundtable event. Motion carried. Historical Commission members and Chamber of Commerce members will be encouraged to attend.
- 7. The following update on book sales of "Montgomery County Historical Timeline" was given by Larry: 560 soft cover and 100 hard cover books have been sold. Each Montgomery County Library has two hard copies and the Heritage Museum bought 50 to put in every high school and junior high in the County. Larry plans to order another 100 soft cover and 50 hard bound books. David Frame made the motion to create a PDF format of the Historical Timeline for sale on the website and make arrangements for payments/donations through Pay Pal or by other means. Ron Saikowski seconded the motion. Motion carried. David will follow up on this with the website.
- 8. Committee Reports: a) MCHC Website and Facebook. David Frame expressed the need for someone to devote time to updating the website and Facebook. b) Youth Advisory Board. In Brenda Beaven's absence, Larry reported there are 10-12 students representing 3 or 4 high schools, but none from South Montgomery County. Members are asked to get phone numbers and e-mails of history teachers in their areas and keep them updated on Youth Advisory Board activities. c) Anna Shepeard announced the following grant requests and made a motion to approve: (1) Heritage Museum \$6,215.46; (2) Montgomery Historical Society \$10,000 for roof for the old Post Office building; (3) Magnolia Depot \$1,950 (approved subject to receipts being produced). Total \$18,165.36 (h.o. attached). Ron Saikowski seconded the motion. Motion carried. d) Larry explained the need for a State Historical Marker for Isaac Conroe's grave at Glenwood Cemetery in Houston and for the Conroe Normal Institute. e) County Historical Marker Committee report was given by Sharon Russell, who went over the guidelines presented in the attached handout. She, along with ad hoc committee members Anna Shepeard and Barbara Holland, recommend using Southwell for markers. These local historical markers will be paid in advance by the applicant. A marker committee needs to be formed to review applications to verify information. A mentor is needed to make sure people are following guidelines before it gets to the whole Commission. A motion to approve the Montgomery County Historical Commission Guideline procedure was made by Ron Saikowski and seconded by Maria Jordan. Maria suggested developing a bilingual version of the application. A link will be provided on the website. Motion carried.
- 9. The 2014-2015 Historical Commission Budget was presented by Larry Foerster. A motion was made by Celeste Graves and seconded by Sharon Russell to accept the Budget of \$30,000. (h.o. attached). Motion carried.
- 10. Reimbursement grants were approved above in item 8 c).
- 11. Ron Saikowski made a motion to reimburse Larry Foerster for expenses related to the Youth Advisory Board end-of-year party. Motion seconded by Anna Shepeard. Motion carried.
- 13. The following were nominated to the Historical Commission: Barbara Holland made the motion to nominate Dr. Jeremiah Dancy, a history professor at Sam Houston State University. Sharon Russell seconded the motion. Motion carried. Conroe native, Austin Smith, was nominated for membership by Ron Saikowski and seconded by Mark Canada. Motion carried.
- 14. The next Commission meeting will be September 8, 2014.
- 15. David Frame made the motion to adjourn, with a second by Sharon Russell. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.